Menu Close



Click here to view the Learning Overviews for 2020-2021

Click here to view the Half Termly Areas of Learning Overview 2020 - 2021

Click here to view the Half Term Curriculum Overview 2020-2021

Click here to view the EYFS Continuous Provision Overview 2019-2020

Click here to view the EYFS 1 Continuous Provision Overview 2019-2020

Click here to view the EYFS Half Termly Areas of Learning Overview 2019-2020

Click here to view the KS1 Half Term Subject Overview 2019-2020

Click here to view the KS2 Half Term Subject Overview 2019-2020

Click here to view the Key Stage 1/2 Termly Subject Overview

Click here to veiw - Esk Valley Alliance Long Term Plan

For all schools in England and Wales there is a statutory National Curriculum. This consists of the core subjects – English, Mathematics and Science – and other subjects known as foundation subjects which are – information and communication technology (ICT), history, geography, design and technology, art and design, music and physical education (PE). Religious education (RE) is also a required subject. Other subjects make up the whole curriculum, including personal, social, health and citizenship education (PSHCE) and, for older children, French.   Our Creative Curriculum was judged as outstanding in the last Ofsted inspection.  We are very proud of the way we enrich the curriculum for all children by visits to museums etc., getting visitors in and lots of cross curriculum planning.  On the this and the next page are some of the creative things we do to make learning fun!

While there are compulsory subjects in the whole school curriculum, parents do have to right to withdraw their children from religious education and from acts of collective worship.

We are particularly proud at Oakridge of our commitment to high quality sport delivered by a variety of sports coach, and the high quality Music provision delivered by specialist teachers.

The curriculum, teaching and learning are organised in 3 Key Stages :

The Foundation Stage – includes Nursery and Reception age children’ ages 3 - 4

        Key Stage 1 (KS1) – includes children in Years 1 and 2, ages                 5 - 7

Key Stage 2 (KS2) – includes those children in Years 3 – 6, ages 7 –11

Statutory assessments are carried out at the end of each Key Stage by means of external tests (SATs) and teacher assessment.

Under the requirements of the Parent’s Charter, every school must publish the results of National Curriculum tests for 7 year olds and 11 year olds, if the cohort of children is greater than 10.

In 2011 there were fewer than 10 children aged 7 and 11.


The following documents are available in school to help parents gain information and support involvement. It is every parent’s right, under the Education Act, to have access to these:

  • school aims
  • Safeguarding and Child Protection
  • statutory instruments including statutory orders for National Curriculum subjects
  • information about complaints procedures
  • schemes of work and arrangements for teaching RE


We have a good range of lunchtime clubs and after school clubs run by staff and sometimes bought in sport coaches.  This year we will be having; netball, recorder, gardening, football, art and crazy games clubs with some changing as the year goes on if children ask for something different.

Click here to view the National Curriculum

Click here to view the 4 year plan


The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum sets out the minimum content for our curriculum. Please use the links below to find out what our children will be taught.

Art and Design


Design and Technology





Modern Foreign Language




Follow this link to the Department of Education website.

Click here to contact the school for further information